University of California leaders: “We denounce them.” Denounce who?

Statement of UC President Mark G. Yudof, the chancellors of the 10 UC campsuse and the chair and vice chair of the Universitywide Academic Senate

PDF of joint statement

Feb. 26, 2010

As leaders of the University of California, we are deeply disturbed by recent events at a few of our campuses. We condemn all acts of racism, intolerance and incivility. Regardless of how such offenses are rationalized, or what free speech rights they purport to express, the acts we have witnessed are unacceptable. The actions of these individuals reflect neither our principles nor our values, nor the sentiments of the University of California community. We will not allow the actions of a few to speak for this university. We denounce them.

Each of our campuses is committed to promoting and defending a learning environment that values and supports each student, faculty and staff member in an atmosphere that is open, civil, fair, caring and respectful. These values are enshrined in the “Principles of Community” each campus adheres to and that clearly outline our expectations for behavior on our campuses. We expect that all members of our university community, including our visitors, will be respectful of differing views, opinions, experiences, and background.

When violations occur, it is incumbent on us, as leaders and as stewards of free speech on our campuses, to push back. We have a responsibility to speak out against activities that promote intolerance or undermine civil dialogue. As always, the remedy for bad speech is good speech. For that reason, we call on all members of the UC community — students, faculty and staff — to affirm and defend the values of the University of California. We are speaking out and ask that you do the same whenever, wherever and however you confront behavior that violates the principles and values of this university.

Mark G. Yudof, president, University of California
Henry Powell, chair, UC Academic Senate
Daniel Simmons, vice chair, UC Academic Senate
Robert J. Birgeneau, chancellor, UC Berkeley
Linda P.B. Katehi, chancellor, UC Davis
Michael V. Drake, M.D., chancellor, UC Irvine
Gene Block, chancellor, UC Los Angeles
Steve Kang, chancellor, UC Merced
Timothy P. White, chancellor, UC RiversideMarye Anne Fox, chancellor, UC San Diego
Susan Desmond-Hellmann, chancellor, UC San Francisco
Henry T. Yang, chancellor, UC Santa Barbara
George Blumenthal, chancellor, UC Santa Cruz


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: